Planning Commission

Boards and Commissions

A Planning Commission by state law is charged with the responsibility of making and approving a master plan as a guide for future development of the City and make careful and comprehensive surveys and studies of present conditions and future growth of the City with due regard to its relation to neighboring jurisdictions. The Planning Commission reviews all development and re-development proposals including site plans, planned unit developments, subdivisions and special use permits. Recommendations for street or alley vacations and zoning amendments are forwarded to the City council for final action.

Click here to download the Bylaws for the Planning Commission


Interested In Joining the Planning Commission?

We are looking for candidates who would like to be part of the planning and development of future growth for the City of Pontiac.
Click here to download an application of membership
Click here for details about membership

Membership: Consists of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor subject to the approval of city council. In the event of an appointment of an Emergency Manager, the Emergency Manager shall appoint the members without any vote by the city council. The seven members shall not hold another municipal office, except that one member may be a member of the zoning board of appeals or a member of the joint fire administrative board.

The Planning Commission meets on the 1st Wednesday of each month at 6:00 pm at City Hall, 47450 Woodward Avenue, Pontiac.

 Meeting Schedules, Agendas and Minutes
Click here for the 2023 Planning Commission Schedule
 Click Here to Download The Monthly Agendas and Minutes


Names of Planning Commission:

Mona Parlove, Chair
Christopher Northcross, Vice Chair
Mike McGuiness, City Council Representative
Vernita Duvall
Tim Shepard
Joan Johnson
Samuel Henley

Meeting Times: Meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers.

Term: Terms of ex-officio members shall correspond to their respective official tenures, except that the term of the Administrative Official selected by the Mayor shall terminate with the term of the Mayor. The remaining six members' terms shall be three years, or until successor is appointed and shall be staggered as previously established.